Text Size:

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

Department of Liberal Studies


Schedule an Appointment

Appointment Procedures and Guidelines »

Video on how to use SCC Advising

Room EED-67
Phone: 562-985-1105

Walk-In Advising Hours

Get quick questions answered by an available advisor; specific advisor requests cannot be accomodated.

WEEK OF: January 23rd - January 27th

January 23rd (Mon) 9:00AM-5:00PM

January 24th (Tue)  9:00AM-5:15PM

January 25th (Wed) 9:00AM-5:00PM

January 26th (Thurs) 9:00AM-5:15PM

January 27th (Fri)  9:00AM-5:00PM (closed 12-1)

*Hours are subject to change. It is suggested that you check the website for latest updates or call to verify hours before arrival.

Admission Under Impaction

IMPORTANT: Admission to the Liberal Studies major is impacted -- for more details, refer to Impaction Criteria.

Liberal Studies Major

The Liberal Studies major provides a rich, rigorous, cross-disciplinary liberal arts program of study.

Application/Admissions Process »

University Catalog Listing for Liberal Studies

Those interested in applying to, or declaring their major as Liberal Studies are encouraged to visit an advisor for walk-in advising.

Two program options are available:

Bachelor of Arts in Liberal Studies, Track 1

120 Units

Liberal Studies Track I is our traditional teacher education program where students complete their Bachelor of Arts degree in Liberal Studies. After completion of their B.A, they may continue their education as a post-bac student and complete a teaching credential at CSULB or at another university.

Bachelor of Arts in Liberal Studies, ITEP

135 Units

The Integrated Teacher Education Program (ITEP) combines the study of academic subject matter for elementary school teaching with professional preparation and student teaching. Successful completion of ITEP includes both a Bachelor of Arts degree and a Multiple Subject Teaching Credential. This program follows standards established by the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing.


last updated — Jan 23, 2017